HomeRoentgen Medal: Current Recipient: 

The 2014 Röntgen Medal Laureate

Professor Dr. Ada E. Yonath

Ada E. Yonath was born 22 June 1939 was born in the Guela quarter of Jerusalem. She graduted from graduated from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem with a bachelor's degree in chemistry in 1962, and a master's degree in biochemistry in 1964. In 1968, she earned a Ph.D. in xray crystallography at the Weizmann Institute of Science. She is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute. In 2009, she received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with V. Ramakrishnan and TA Steitz for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome.


Impressions Awarding of the Roentgen Medal 2013 G. McKenna